Knitting · Travel/Places

Pleasant Hill Craft Fair

Yesterday we went to the Pleasant Hill Craft Fair at Shaker Village.  100_1978_2The booths were set up along two tree-lined, graveled roads on the village grounds.  There were many crafts represented — jewelry, woodworking, beading, soaps, pottery, fiber arts, basketry, photography.  I know I’m leaving something out.  My favorites are the baskets, pottery and fibers.

I was especially drawn to a jewelry booth displaying glass bead pendants.  She had lovely designs and color combinations.  There were several pottery vendors with lovely and unique designs.  A couple of years ago, I bought a woven bag that converts from backpack to shoulder and there was a really pretty blue woven fabric this year that was very tempting.

100_2005I fell in love with this flower watering “thingy” two years ago.  Press it down into the water, hold you thumb over the top, pull it out of the water, remove your thumb and it “rains” down on the flowers.  It’s fun and mesmerizing.  DH bought it without me knowing and gave it to me for Christmas.

.

.

.

.

This year, we bought

• a bag of fresh-ground corn meal.  When they crank up the machinery a large crowd always gathers.

100_1995

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

• and these gorgeous skeins (440 yds total) of hand-painted wool.  The colors just yelled “fall shawl or wrap”.

100_2001_2

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Although it was really hot and humid, we walked through part of the village and rested on the benches before leaving.

100_1984This fellow came straight to the fence when he saw us coming.  After a good head rub, he laid down in the shade.  (This picture is for you T.)   😉

.

.

.

Kellokukka Update

Two and a half repeats completed.  It’s getting much easier to get a rhythm and the pattern is more predictable for me.  But along with the predictability comes a little monotony.  I’m not sure how many repeats I can get with this yarn.  I have just under 2 ounces left.  I don’t really want to buy more.  Still love the feel and color with this pattern.

