In the Garden · Knitting · Ponderings/Life

Weekend Wrap-up

It’s been hard to get to the blog lately.  Life just gets busy and pulls me in other directions.  Took care of some medical issues with my mom and we’re grateful that she’s doing well now.

Traveling Woman

Traveling Woman -- finished before  blocking
Traveling Woman -- finished -- before blocking

Finished the Traveling Woman Shawl on Friday.  Here’s a pre-blocking picture.  It’s going to be long and shallow.  Just what I was trying for.  That “bulge” in the middle where the YOs stop and the motifs begin has me a little concerned.  I’ve learned that blocking cures much and I’m hoping it will take care of this too.  Speaking of blocking — I hope to have that done tomorrow.

Fall Planting

100_2442Yesterday, DH and I went to the garden center to check out the fall plants and came home with a trunk full of mums.  Some for the front yard, some for pots on the deck and a gorgeous little aster for the side garden.  As soon as they show some color, I’ll share more pictures.

Sunrise

When I woke up this morning it was dark and I was the only one in the room.  DH and the dog were sitting on the deck watching the sunrise.  (Actually, Sydney was watching for squirrel activity.  I think the sunrise was lost on her.)  I grabbed my Honey Leaf Blue Shawl (Ravelry link) and joined them.  It was still just dark and clear enough to see the moon, Venus and Saturn (we think).  What a beautiful way to start the day!

Hope you’ve had a nice weekend and enjoy the rest of your day!
♥ J
