Reading

Fall Into Reading 2009 Wrap-Up

Yesterday, the last day of the autumn, was also the last day to read for this year’s Fall Into Reading Challenge sponsored by Katrina over on Callapidder Days.  Today is the day to report on our progress.

This was my first reading challenge and I’m so glad that I gave it a try.  I’m not a driven reader so the ease of this challenge gave me much needed motivation.  I’ve had fun!

There were nine books on my “to read” list, some of them had been waiting on the shelf for quite a while. I finished four of the nine books on my list and started a fifth.  That’s one book each month and I’m pretty pleased.  Knitting, a new part-time job, counted cross-stitch and the holidays all competed with reading for a piece of my “spare” time.  And thanks to this challenge reading held it’s own.  (My original list, start and finish dates are on the Fall Into Reading Challenge 2009 page in the sidebar.)

Here are the books I finished —

Home to Holly Springs by Jan Karon
The Sweet Gum Knit Lit Society by Beth Patillo
Home to Big Stone Gap by Adrianna Trigiani
Knit Two by Kate Jacobs

Just started The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

I’ve discovered a several patterns to my reading this fall, none of them intentional — books from series, homecomings, small towns, strong women, characters that want or need to learn more about themselves.  Interesting how that happened.

I have to admit there wasn’t a favorite and there wasn’t a book that I didn’t like.  Would I recommend each one?  Yes!

Thanks, Katrina!  I’m looking forward to the Spring Challenge!  In the meantime, I’m going to try to keep the momentum through the winter and post about my progress.

Now, I’m going to head over to Callapidder Days and check out other folks “wrap ups” here and probably add a few new titles to my list.

3 thoughts on “Fall Into Reading 2009 Wrap-Up

  1. I’ve recently picked up knitting too..& it’s been ‘eating’ into my reading time..haha..
    The books u chose seems interesting..maybe I’ll go see what ‘Knit Two’ is abt..

    Like

Comments are closed.