Crochet · Knitting · Ponderings/Life

An Inspirational Pattern – Knit & Crochet Blog Week – Day 2

Wow!  I had a great time yesterday visiting new-to-me blogs and bloggers that are taking part in KnitCroBloWeek.  Fun!!

Here’s what we’ll be talking about today.

Blog about a pattern or project which you aspire to. Whether it happens to be becausthe skills needed are ones which you have not yet acquired, or just because it seems like a huge undertaking of time and dedication, most people feel they still have something to aspire to in their craft. If you don’t feel like you have any left of the mountain of learning yet to climb, say so!

An Inspirational Pattern

Everything about knitting (and crochet) for me has been a journey.  My on-again-off-again beginning was a 25-30 year journey in itself.  There’s an ongoing discussion about whether a person is a process knitter or a project knitter.  Well, I think I’m both.  And the process to get to those projects is always a fun trip  🙂

When I returned to knitting seriously, I wanted to knit socks.  I was spending 8 weeks on the couch recovering from an unexpected surgery and so, so bored.  I made fingerless mitts to learn to knit in the round and use double-pointed needles.  Then a Calorimetry headband to learn short rows.  My first trip out of the house was too early after surgery, but I “needed” to go to Hobby Lobby to buy double-pointed needles and sport weight yarn.  (DH went with me to make sure I didn’t meander — like I could have walked that far anyway.  I slept an hour after that trip.)  Armed with new supplies, instructions from the Internet, and nothing but time, I made a pair of truly amazing and strange-looking socks that had two mismatched heels and one pointy toe and one rounded.  They looked really bad … and they were terrific!  I’m not a huge sock knitter now, but I do have a couple of wearable pair under my belt and a pair on the needles now.  Here’s my first wearable socks – a Christmas gift a couple of years ago for DH.


My next journey was learning to knit and crochet bags.  All kinds of bags — market bags, book bags, purses and lots of little ditty bags.


I began to knit dishcloths because I loved the picture cloths and wanted to learn how to do that.  Then I realized what a great swatch for lace they could be.

Which brings me to my current journey — knitting lace.  I have fallen in love with lace shawls.  While I was browsing patterns and projects on Ravelry (I spend way too much time doing this, but it’s such fun!), I ran across the Gail (aka Nightsongs) shawl by Jane Araujo.  It was stunning and love at first sight.  I wanted that shawl; I wanted to know how to knit that shawl.  I bought the yarn before I was even ready to start  😉   I practiced lace dishcloths with worsted weight yarn, swatched and frogged lots of lacy scarf patterns, and joined a couple of lace groups on Ravelry.  After four lace KALs (a scarf and 3 other shawls), many lifelines and stitch markers, much tinking and frogging  🙂  I was ready.  And here she is … My Nightsongs.

The lace journey doesn’t end here.  I am so hooked on lace and lace shawls.  What do I aspire to?  I’m knitting 10 Shawls in 2010 this year with four finished so far.  All my shawls to this point have been knitted with fingering weight yarn.  So in May, I’m moving to lace weight.  Not too many months ago I would have told you I was perfectly satisfied where I was.  But I’m ready to move on now.  After lace weight I’m looking at revisiting nupps.  My first attempt was a doozy and it’s time to give it another go.  I have my eye on a couple of stoles.  And then … well we’ll just see what’s out there when I get to that point.

So — I’m ready to go blog hopping and check on some of the other KnitCroBlo folks.   KLC Creations has a list of participating bloggers in the sidebar on her blog.  And there’s another list of folks participating on The Blog Hub group on Ravelry.

Thanks for visiting my blog.  I hope you’ll leave a quick comment to let me know you stopped by.  Enjoy your day!!


.

TAGGING CODE: knitcroblo2

5 thoughts on “An Inspirational Pattern – Knit & Crochet Blog Week – Day 2

  1. Janet, what a beautiful shawl! I don’t knit but my grandmother did lace knitting. She made beautiful lace doilies. You have a wonderful talent! I am fortunate enough to have recieved a wonderful pair of knitted socks from my niece Tina. My talents lie elsewhere. But I had to stop by and tell you how beautiful that shawl is (as if you didn’t know already or you wouldn’t have chosen the pattern)!
    Have a blessed day!

    Like

  2. I’ve been knitting a lot of socks these days. Not a lot of PAIRS of socks, but still!

    I love your Nightsongs, that is one of my favorite patterns and yours is gorgeous.

    Like

  3. I agree with you, a good way to learn a new technique is to try it in a dishcloth. Needless to say I have quite a stash. I end up gifting a lot.

    Wow,I’m impressed 10 shawls in 2010 and on lace weight yarn too! So far the smallest I’ve gone is fingering.

    I’m actually awaiting some needles and yarn from knit picks and hopefully starting my first socks – I’m so intimidated but I’m hoping I can do it.

    Like

  4. Oh my your Nightsongs is absolutely gorgeous I love the yarn color you chose. Lace is on my list of things to knit & so are bags.

    Like

Comments are closed.