Ponderings/Life

A Special Yarn – Knit & Crochet Blog Week – Day 7

Today is the last day of the Knit & Crochet Blog Week.  Our topic is

What a Yarn

There’s one love that we all share: yarn. Blog about a particular yarn you have used in the past or own in your stash, or perhaps one that you covet from afar. If it is a yarn you have used you could show the project that you used it for . . . .

My interest and appreciation of yarn has certainly grown since I “restarted” my knitting/crochet journey.  The reality of how much I have to learn has grown as well.  So many choices and so little time to use them all.  OK … I know that’s not possible.  Time and budget are working against me  🙂

I do have a couple of favorite yarns.  When I decided to make my first lace shawl, I discovered Malabrigo Sock Yarn.  It’s so soft, the colors are beautiful and varied, and it blocks beautifully.  Another favorite is Feza Ipik Cyprus Mohair — an incredibly soft, bulky yarn in great variegated colors.

My most favorite yarn is a favorite not because of a brand or color or content.  It’s the yarn than my son brought back from Greece as a gift for his mom.  He searched out a yarn store in Athens, talked with a knitter at the shop about choices and brought back a beautiful wool in a bold blue and white (colors of the Greek flag).  I have a terrific son!  So far I’ve made a scarf and cowl.  There’s a skein or two waiting for the next project.

I’ve enjoyed participating in Knit & Crochet Blog Week.  I’ve enjoyed visiting blogs new to me and learning about fellow knitters and crocheters.  My blog reader is busting at the seams with all the new blogs that have been added.

A special thanks to all those who have visited me this week.  I hope you’ll come back and visit often.



TAGGING CODE: knitcroblo7

4 thoughts on “A Special Yarn – Knit & Crochet Blog Week – Day 7

  1. What a sweet son! I can see why that is your favorite yarn.

    I need to try the Malabrigo sock yarn. I only have worsted weight, which is lovely and soft.

    Like

Comments are closed.