Reading

Spring Reading Thing – Last Update

The Spring Reading Thing 2010 is sponsored by Katrina at Callapidder Days.  I hit a slump for a little while, but am steaming ahead now.  My original list is here with all the updates listed, in “spring green” of course  🙂

Since the last update, I’ve finished The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club by Gil McNeil.  It was an enjoyable, light read.  There’s a sequel out in paperback, Needles and Pearls, that I’ve already picked up and will put on the summer list.

Next up was The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd.  Another good read that I finished off in record time.  The story is told by Lily  who is fourteen with many unanswered questions about her mother.  Excellent book.

Currently reading . . .

The whole story is told in a series of letters between a variety of characters.  I’ve eyed this book because of the title for quite a while, but always hesitated because of the “letters” style.  Now, about a third of the way through, I can’t put it down.  I’ve taken a look at the reader’s guide in the back of the book and have a few ideas about what’s going to happen.  But I stopped myself before I figured everything out.  Do you use the reader’s guides?  Before, during or after a read?  Sometimes I think they give too much away.  And sometimes, it’s what keeps me reading.

The challenge ends on the last day of spring — June 20.  Only 18 day’s left.

I’m headed off to stitch on the Christmas Patchwork for a bit and then maybe do a little reading on the deck after supper.

As always, I appreciate your visits and comments.  Enjoy the rest of your day!

4 thoughts on “Spring Reading Thing – Last Update

  1. There is nothin’ better than sitting outside;reading and knitting and sewing! I also recently read the Beach Street Knitting book and I’ll have to wait for the next one, as our library has a waiting list.

    Like

  2. Is the book ‘Yarn Club’ nice to read..? I saw it the other day but never thought of it – partly b’cos I’ve not read from this author before..

    Like

    1. I found Gil McNeil’s book very enjoyable. The main character shows a great deal of patience, humor and courage as she starts life over in a small beach town and revamps her grandmother’s yarn shop. The author’s style made for an easy read. Thanks for visiting my blog and for your comment!

      Like

Comments are closed.