Reading

Summer Reading Challenge Update #2

Just finished (literally, finished about an hour ago) my second book for the Summer Reading Challenge 2010.

Needles and Pearls
by Gil McNeil

Witty and warm … a great read!

I enjoyed McNeil’s first novel, The Beach Street Knitting Society and Yarn Club, so much I bought the sequel as soon as I could find a copy.  The story picks up one year after the death of Jo’s husband and her move to the seaside town with her two boys to make a new start and take over her grandmother’s yarn shop.  There are several unexpected twists to the story.  Jo is a very strong character and handles most things with patience and humor.  The author jumps right in to the new story, filling in background as needed.  I liked this fact very much because I often tire of the way some series spend so much time retelling the previous story.  This could be a bit of a problem for anyone unfamiliar with the background from the first book.  The story could easily continue into a third book.  I hope it does!

Next up is Oolong Dead by Laura Childs and I’m still working on The Art of Racing in the Rain.

The Summer Reading Challenge is sponsored by Julie at My Book Retreat and runs all summer (through September 21).  Still plenty of time to join if you’re interested.

Thanks for visiting today.  What are you reading this summer?

Have a great weekend!

One thought on “Summer Reading Challenge Update #2

Comments are closed.