Reading

Summer Reading Challenge Update #3

Finished my third book for the Summer Reading Challenge 2010 several days ago.

Oolong Dead is the 10th book in Laura Childs’ Tea Shop Mystery series.  Theodosia Browning is the owner of the Indigo Tea Shop in Charleston, South Carolina.  Theo is thrown from her horse during the Charleston Point-to-Point.  After a harsh landing, she discovers the body of a TV reporter and sister of a former boyfriend.  A little amateur investigation lands her in several more tight spots before the mystery is solved.

This was a very quick enjoyable cozy mystery.  Set in Charleston, one of my favorite cities, I enjoyed all the references to special places in the city.  I enjoy reading series and prefer to read them in order.  But this book was sitting on the bargain shelf calling my name so I decided to give it a try.  Other than a better familiarity with the character, I don’t think you miss anything else really.  Drayton is an interesting character that I thought could have been a little more developed.  Maybe that was in an earlier book.  I’ll definitely keep this series on my “To Be Read” list.

Next up is The Red Tent by Anita Diamant.  This book wasn’t on my original list, but the others don’t seem to interest me just now.

The Summer Reading Challenge is sponsored by Julie at My Book Retreat and runs all summer (through September 21).

What are you reading this summer?  Anything that you think I should add to my list?

As always, I really appreciate your visits and lovely comments!

One thought on “Summer Reading Challenge Update #3

  1. You will love The Red Tent, or at least I did. It’s one of my favorites. A belated Happy Anniversary; we celebrate #45 next Saturday. I know what you mean when you say, “it seems like yesterday….” The time sure flew by! Loved your Sydney photos!

    Like

Comments are closed.