Reading

Fall Into Reading 2010 Update

I just realized that I haven’t given any updates on the Fall Into Reading challenge.  Fall Into Reading 2010 is hosted by Katrina at Callapidder Days, and runs September 22 through December 20.  My original list is here.  Although I’m not reading as much as I’d hoped, I am enjoying what I’m reading.

First book finished for the challenge ~ Jane Austen Ruined My Life by Beth Pattillo.  I’m a fan of Jane Austen and Beth Pattillo, so I looked forward to this read.  It was quick and very enjoyable.  Not being an Austen scholar made it a little difficult for me to separate fact and fiction, but it really didn’t matter.  The main character, Emma Grant, is an Austen scholar who believes in Jane Austen’s happy endings.  But when her personal and professional life take a bad turn, she’s disillusioned.  Emma travels to London to learn more about missing Austen letters and a secret society.  She learns and discovers much about herself.

Next book finished a week ago ~ Death by Darjeeling by Laura Childs.  This is the first book in the Tea Shop Mystery series.  I’ve been enjoying this series completely out of order, so I thought it time to read the first book to be sure I wasn’t missing anything important.  There’s a little more detail about the characters, otherwise, the order doesn’t seem to matter.  Theodora Browning owns The Indigo Tea Shop in Charleston, SC.  When a guest at one of her catered events dies from poisoned tea, Theo sets off to investigate.  The story is well developed and reads very smoothly.  I was totally surprised by the ending, although as I think back, all the clues were there.  I think I’ve said before, I wish there was an Indigo Tea Shop near me.

Next book up ~ Home at Rose Cottage by Sherryl Woods.

So . . . what’s on your reading list?

Thanks so much for visiting today.  Your visits and comments are always appreciated.

