Ponderings/Life

Count Me In!

I’ve found myself doing a lot of “joining” lately — book groups, crochet-a-longs, stitch-a-longs.  I like to join along with others.  It makes whatever I’m doing a lot more fun.

So here are the groups and “-a-longs” I’ll be participating in this year.

Dogs on Thursday ~  for people who love their dogs and want to talk about them once a week.  I can’t deprive Sydney of her day in the spotlight.

Stitch-A-Longs

Totally Useless Stitch-A-Long (TUSAL) is hosted this year by Sharon @ It’s Daffycat.  Save your orts (thread, yarn or fabric scraps) in a glass container and share photos on the new moon of each month.  Such a fun way to look back at monthly progress.

Crazy January Challenge 2011 is hosted by Minna @ Ristipistoja.  Start 15 new cross-stitch designs, one on each of the first 15 days of January, and try to have them finished by the end of the year.  I found this through Julie’s Creations and it sounded like fun.  Now that I’ve gathered my patterns, fabric and threads I’m realizing just how “crazy” this is.

Ravelry Groups

Mystery 220 (Ravelry link)  ~  a monthly, mystery KAL using 220 yards or less, following weekly clues.  The December “warm-up” KAL was a lovely cowl/hat pattern named Duet.  Fun!

2011 Crochet Block-A-Month CAL (Ravelry link)  ~  Crochet a new 12″ and/or 6″ block each month to create an afghan at the end of the year.

Reading Challenges

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along!

2011 E-Book Challenge is hosted by The Ladybug Reads.  Choose your participation level and keep track of the e-books read in 2011.  Now that I have my birthday Kindle this seemed meant for me.

Spring Reading Thing and Fall Into Reading  ~  I’ve enjoyed participating in these challenges and hope Katrina @ Callapidder Days will continue in 2011.

I’ve tried to continue with the groups I’ve enjoyed over the last year or so and add challenges that would encourage me to follow through on plans I’ve been making for next year.  Now . . . knowing me as you do, it’s inevitable that I’ll pick up another meme or two as the year goes along.  But I want to be careful to keep it fun and not get overwhelmed.

See a group or challenge that might interest you?  Click any of the links and join up!  Let me know if you do join so I can keep up with how you’re doing.

Stay tuned . . . .

Enjoy the rest of your week!  And thanks for visiting today!

2 thoughts on “Count Me In!

Comments are closed.