Reading

Spring Reading Thing 2011 Wrap-Up

Yesterday started with thunderstorms that turned into a sunny, mild day.  Last day of Spring!  And the last day of this year’s Spring Reading Thing.  The reading challenge has been sponsored by Katrina at Callapidder Days.  Today’s the day for our progress reports.

My original list with updates in springy green can be found here.  I finished 7 books this spring . . . four of the six books on my original list, plus three more.

So . . . to “wrap it up” . . .

Finished:
The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott by Kelly O’Connor McNees
Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson
Leota’s Garden by Francine Rivers
Between Friends by Debbie Macomber
13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson
Invisible by Lorena McCourtney
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can’t pick a favorite from the books read this spring; I’d recommend them all.  Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand was excellent and gave me much to think about.  The ending of Leota’s Garden was very unexpected and a bit unsatisfying.  And I loved the young girl detective in The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie.

Unread:
Millie’s Fling (Jill Mansell)
The Forgotten Garden (Kate Morton)

I just can’t get going with Millie’s Fling and I can’t explain why.  I may give it another try later, but there are so many books on the TBR list.  The Forgotten Garden will suit summer reading better I think, so I’m looking forward to starting it soon.

Currently Reading:
The Swan House by Elizabeth Musser

I’m feeling pretty pleased with my progress.  I’m going to head over to Callapidder Days to check out other “wrap ups” here and undoubtedly add a few new titles to my list.  Thanks, Katrina, for another fun challenge!

4 thoughts on “Spring Reading Thing 2011 Wrap-Up

Comments are closed.