Reading

Reading Updates and Teaser Tuesday #10

Good grief!  I haven’t posted any reading updates since my SRT Wrap-up in June.  Guess it’s time to do a little catching up on my summer reading.

First book finished was The Swan House by Elizabeth Musser, about a young girl coming of age after her mother’s death in a plane crash.  She learns much about herself and her mother, racial tensions and faith.  I think I’d like to try another book by this author.  This counted as book #9 in the 2011 E-Book Challenge.

I needed something a little lighter after that so when Life’s a Beach by Claire Cook came out as a free Kindle download, I couldn’t resist.  This is a quirky story about a 40-something woman, living above her parents’ garage, trying to figure out herself and her relationships.  I already have another of Cook’s books waiting on the shelf.  This was book #10 in the E-book Challenge.  I’ve met my goal of 6 e-books and am well on my way to meeting the next level.  The Kindle just seems to make reading so easy.     🙂

And I just finished The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry, an excellent, complex mystery.  And even though it’s finished, I’ve decided to use it for today’s teaser.

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teaser:

“My name is Towner Whitney.  No, that’s not exactly true.  My real first name is Sophya.  never believe me.  I lie all the time.  I am a crazy woman. . . . That last part is true.”

The Lace Reader by Brunonia Barry, page 3.

You can read other Teaser Tuesdays by visiting MizB at Should Be Reading.  I find lots of books to add to my list there.     🙂      Next up for me is Knitting by Anne Bartlett.  Happy Reading!

 

