Ponderings/Life · Reading

Fall Into Reading 2011

There was a tiny nip in the air on my walk this morning, along with a few raindrops.  The poplars have been dropping leaves for weeks.  Mums of every color fill the garden centers.  Local orchards have a full schedule of apple/cider/pumpkin festivals.  Yep . . . it’s fall.  And I love it!

The first day of fall also kicks off the Fall Into Reading 2011 challenge on Callapidder Days.  Katrina’s spring and fall challenges have become a tradition here.  It’s a simple, low pressure event that runs from September 23-December 21 (that’s fall y’all).  It works something like this.  Make a list of books you’d like to read.  My lists always change during the challenge and that’s OK.  Post your list at the beginning and your progress at the end.   The basics and more details are here.

Here’s my list so far.

  • The Secret Garden (Frances Hodgson Burnett) ~ I’m about 1/3 of the way through.  DH is reading on the Kindle right now so I may start something else.
  • The Blind Contessa’s New Machine (Carey Wallace)   finished
  • Water for Elephants (Sara Gruen)
  • The Help (Kathryn Stockett)
  • Praise Jerusalem! (Augutsa Trobaugh)
  • The Rehtoric of Death (Judith Rock)
  • My Name is Mary Sutter (Robin Oliveira)    finished

Waiting on my TBR list

  • Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet (Jamie Ford)
  • Sarah’s Key (Tatiana de Rosnay)
  • The Forgotten Garden (Kate Morton)
  • Cutting for Stone (Abraham Verghese)
Added to the list
  • Seven Year Switch (Claire Cook)   finished
  • Hide in Plain Sight (Marta Perry)   finished
  • A Home for Christmas (Deborah Grace Staley)   finished
So many things vie for my spare time.  I’d love to finish at least 7-8 books on my list.  Time will tell.  And who knows what I may add or substitute after I read the lists of other FIR participants.  I’ll post updates here in autumn orange and on my Reading Lists page.

I’m off to check out some other blogs and add to the never-ending “To Read” list.

Enjoy your first day of fall and Happy Reading!

9 thoughts on “Fall Into Reading 2011

  1. Oh great list of books! I have read and loved The Help, Cutting for Stone and The Secret Garden and I’m dying to read Hotel on the corner of Bitter and Sweet and Water for Elephants and My Name is Mary sutter. Good luck with your challenge!

    Like

  2. Great books. I have quite a few of those books on my tbr list.
    My list is a combo of review books and books that will help me complete the other reading challenges I am participating in.
    Good luck!

    Like

  3. You’ve got some good books there, Janet. I’ve read 3 of the 4 on your TBR list and loved them all. My sister loved Forgotten Garden and that one’s on my list now. The Help is very good also. It’s hard to share a Kindle, isn’t it? I just finished The Language of Flowers; it’s great!

    Like

  4. I’ve read Water for Elephants, The Help and Sarah’s Key and liked them all! I hope you enjoy them as well. As you noted when you stopped by my blog, I also have The Forgotten Garden and Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet on my list. Hopefully they’ll be as good as I’ve heard they are!

    Like

Comments are closed.