Spinning

Saturday Spindling

Spindle spinning has been a challenge this week.  Every time I’ve touched the spindle I prove I am a true beginner.  

Inconsistency has ruled.  I’ve only been able to work 15-20 minutes at a time.  One day goes smoothly and the next I feel like I’m starting over.  I’m having trouble controlling thickness.  The fiber breaks and I have to join again, and again.  At the end of the day, the yarn kept slipping on the hook.  I am obviously doing something wrong. 

Today is a new day. After a bit of research, I’ve discovered part of the problem and found a few solutions.  

  • First, I’m expecting way too much too soon.  I’ve only been spindling for about a month.  I need to show down and enjoy the process.  
  • Second, I’m spinning clockwise, but winding the yarn on the shaft in the opposite direction.  Everything should be going the same way.
  • Third, I found this article, via Ravelry, about notchless spindles.  My spindle has no notch, so I’ll this way of attaching the leader and see if it will keep the yarn from slipping through the hook. 

So, yarn off the spindle and onto a large knitting needle.  Not sure what I’ll do with what I’ve spun so far.  I may try to ply it and see what happens. 

For a distraction, I thought I’d give the bottom whorl spindle (top photo) a try.  I love the smooth, long spin.  Tying off on the top groove will take some practice.  I’m getting a pretty consistent yarn and just a bit thicker.

When all’s said and done I’m still enthused and ready to start again.  Next week, I’ll have a better progress report.

4 thoughts on “Saturday Spindling

  1. Hmm I wonder if that is why mine was slipping off the hook too. Someone at my knitting guild told me to wrap it twice on the hook to prevent it slipping off.

    Like

Comments are closed.