Reading

Spring Reading Thing 2012 Wrap-Up

According to the Old Farmer’s Almanac yesterday was the summer solstice.  Our high temperature was 92°F.  Hello Summer!  Yesterday was also the last day of this year’s Spring Reading Thing.  Time to wrap-up the reading challenge sponsored by Katrina at Callapidder Days.

So . . . to “wrap it up” . . .

The original list with spring green updates is posted here.  My original goal was to read 6 books and I finished five this spring.  Only two were from the original list.  Three others were added.

Finished:
The Florabama Ladies’ Auxilliary and Sewing Circle by Lois Battle
The Heretic’s Daughter by Kathleen Kent
Antiques Bazarre by Barbara Allan
Respect the Spindle by Abby Franquemont
Spinning in the Old Way by Priscilla A. Gibson-Roberts 

Currently Reading:
The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag by Alan Bradley    I’ll finish it today but not in time to count for the challenge.

I’ve been distracted this spring with learning to spin on the drop spindle.  The original reading list took a back seat to the books on spinning.  I read some sections so many times, the number of pages would probably add up to another book   :-}

I enjoyed all the books this spring and would recommend each one.  And there are plenty left on the list and the shelves to keep me busy this summer.  How about you?  What are you reading?  What’s on your TBR list?

Thanks for stopping by today.  Your visits and comments are always appreciated!

3 thoughts on “Spring Reading Thing 2012 Wrap-Up

  1. I don’t think I have the patience to learn to spin but it is interesting to watch. I’ve not heard of any of these. I know what you mean about there always being more books on the shelves.

    Like

  2. Haven’t read any of those on your list. I’m reading Infidel and also trying to get into The Distant Hours. I need to finish that by next Monday.

    Like

Comments are closed.