Reading

Fall Into Reading 2012

Hello Autumn!  After the scorching summer, milder temperatures are most welcome.  I love the crisp air and lovely colors of fall.  It’s a wonderful time to grab a shawl, a warm cup of tea, a good book and head to the deck to enjoy the season.

The first day of Autumn brings the beginning of Fall into Reading 2012, sponsored by Katrina @ Callipidder Days.  I’ve been enjoying Katrina’s challenges since 2009.  It’s a simple, low pressure event that runs during the fall season (September 22nd-December 21st) and works something like this.  Make a list of books you’d like to read and post your list at the beginning.  Read your books; change your list as you like.  No required list or number of books.  Post your progress at the end.   The basics and how to sign up are here.

My goal is to read at least six books during the fall season, pulling from this list to start. 

  • Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins ~ Finished The Hunger Games and just started the second book this week ~ finished 9.25.12
  • Mockinjay by Suzanne Collins ~ finished 9.30.12
  • Free Range Knitter by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
  • Vision in White by Nora Roberts ~ finished 10.9.12
  • Hotel On the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford
  • The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  • The Postmistress by Sarah Blake
  • Dog On It by Spencer Quinn ~ finished 11.7.12
  • Dunaway’s Crossing by Nancy Brandon

ADDED TO THE LIST

    • Georgiana Darcy’s Diary by Anna Elliott ~ finished 12.11.12
    • Hope for Christmas by Jeennifer Hayden ~ finished 12.20.12
 Some of these books have been waiting on the shelf and Kindle for quite a while.  We’re headed to the bookstore today so I’m sure I’ll bring back one or two titles to add to the list.  And I always add more after visiting other FIR participants’ lists.
You can check back here throughout the challenge for updates in autumn orange.  And you can also check my progress in the sidebar.

Enjoy the first day of autumn and Happy Reading!

27 thoughts on “Fall Into Reading 2012

  1. Fall is my favorite season too!! I’d love to join you on the deck with a hot apple cider, mmmmm. The Hunger Games are a quick read, aren’t they? Just suck a person in. I think I read all three of them in as many days (while on a business trip with my hubby–he went to meetings while I lounged in the hotel and read, ah, happy memories). The Help is quite good too. I think the movie was actually quite true to the book, especially the characterization.

    Have a lovely Fall!!

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed The Help except for some of the language in it.

    So far I haven’t gotten into The Hunger Games, but my husband wants to see the movie, and I’ve been told the movie doesn’t make as much sense without having read the book. So…maybe.

    Like

    1. The Help has been on my list for such a long time. I’m not sure why I haven’t gotten around to it. This Fall is my chance to get it read.

      Like

  3. Great list – I’ve heard of most of these. You’ll enjoy The Help. I listened to it on audiobook – it was wonderful.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Katrina. I always enjoy your reading challenges. Hotel and Help have been on my lists several times. I hope I can get them read this time around.

      Like

  4. You’ll enjoy The Help and The Hotel; at least I did. If you ever come to Seattle, you can have tea and see some interesting things at the Panama Hotel which is still there.

    Like

  5. I still haven’t read The Help either, and I’ve only read The Hunger Games so far, not the rest of the series. I love this time of year, when the bookshop finally quietens down after the summer rush and I can get stuck into some hearty reading! I signed up for FIR2012 to try to remind myself of all the great books I want to read as the weather gets colder, before it’s too late and the tourists are flocking back to town again… 😀
    Ellie @ Musings of a Bookshop Girl
    http://musingsofabookshopgirl.blogspot.co.uk/

    Like

  6. I really liked Hunger Games and Catching Fire, but couldn’t finish Mockingjay. Somehow it was too military for me, but I’ll have to force myself through it. Happy reading!

    Like

    1. Hi Evana! I understand what you mean about Mockinjay. It seemed to drag a bit for me too. All in all, though, I really enjoyed the series.

      Like

Comments are closed.