Knitting · Ponderings/Life · Spinning · Stitching

Closing Out 2012

Here’s the last finish of 2012.

DSCN9467-001

Ruffle Scarf for Mom
Yarn :: Red Heart Sashay – tango colorway
Needles :: US 10 (6.0 mm)

Several of these ruffle scarves have been popping up on blogs and Ravelry.  Everyone talked about how quick and easy they were to knit.  So I decided to give it a try.  Once you get the hang of it, making one of these is a snap.  I love the rich colors in this yarn and the way the ruffles fluff out.  Mom has been talking about how much she likes the ruffle scarf, so this will be wrapped soon for her birthday.

In 2012, I finished 34 projects :: 27 knitting, 3 cross-stitch, and 783 yards of handspun.  Yay me!       🙂

A few of my favorites for your viewing enjoyment.  (Or you can scroll on down for the rest of the close out.)

I posted my plans for 2012 here.  So let’s see . . . .

1. Put exercise and diet back in focus.  Nothing to talk about . . . not much progress . . . moving on . . . 

2. Be a better blogging buddy.  After a bit of a slump, I’m enjoying blogging again and I’ve tried to do a better job of keeping up with blog friends.  Although I may not be able to comment on each post, I check in with my friends almost every day.

3. Continue the Photo Blog.  Last photos for 2012 should be posted soon.  I’m planning to continue the Photo Blog, maybe with a few changes.  Not quite sure.  I hope you’ll pop over and visit now and again.

4. Resist the urge to “join” every KAL/CAL/SAL/RAL that catches my eye.  I did much, much better on this, finishing most I joined.  And resisting lots more.

5. Finish or Frog WIPs.  Several projects were frogged and yarn reclaimed.  And a couple were rediscovered and finished.  I’ll definitely continue this goal for 2013.

6. Curb the lace shawl obsession.  “Curb” is the key word here.  I still knit lace, but not nearly so many shawls this year.

7. 12 Socks in 2012.  Alas, only 10 pairs of socks finished this year, with 2 more in progress.  Still, without this goal I would have missed out on some fun knits.

8. Learn to use the drop spindle.  It took me until May to gain the courage to get started with the drop spindles.  I  LOVE  SPINNING.

Now the best thing about 2012 . . . My son got married and I now have a lovely new daughter !

OK, 2012.  Consider yourself “closed out”.

If you’ve stayed with me to this point . . . Thank you!  Thank you for visiting my little blog, pressing the like button, and leaving your lovely comments.  It means a great deal to me.  I hope you’re enjoying your New Year’s Eve.  Have a safe evening and see you next year.        🙂

 

janetred

8 thoughts on “Closing Out 2012

    1. Happy New Year to you, Judy! Your pretty ruffle scarves inspired me. It was fun to knit and I’m sure Mom will love it.

      Like

  1. Happy New Years to you & yours. Your scarf came out beautifully. Congratulations on your sons marriage. I hope you have a wonderful 2013.

    Like

  2. Simply put…MISS YOU!!! Looking forward to seeing you all hopefully soon, but probably after Baby comes. Love all your hardwork and seeing what you finished!! Yeah!!! 🙂

    Like

    1. Happy New Year, Heather. I miss you too! I have a baby project on the needles, but I’m not blogging about it so it will stay a surprise! 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.