Knitting

FO Friday ~ Yarn Cake Cozy

Happy Friday!  I’m back, after a week away, and I have one little finish to share.

DSCN9553-001

The pattern is Ball Sack by Jennifer Sugarman.  When I downloaded the pattern a while back, it was free.  Such a cute, simple, fun, stash busting project.  And so perfect for center-pull balls.  The stretchy cozy shrinks with the ball as you use the yarn and keeps it from getting loose and messy.

DSCN9554-001

The yarn is Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in the rockwell colorway, left over from my No Purl Monkeys.  For fun, I used an idea from another Raveler and put a button on the bottom.  It’s cute and will help keep the stitches tight.

The pattern is easy and well written.  I had a few challenges, not the fault of the pattern, but because I was paying more attention to the TV than to my knitting.  First, I read the directions wrong and cast on double the number of stitches.  It was huge.  Then my stitch count was off.  I didn’t measure the height correctly so it’s a little short.  But it works just fine and I’ll definitely make more — following the directions more carefully        🙂

~ • \/ • ~ • \/ • ~ • \/ • ~

It’s been a crazy week around here.  Rain, frost, ice, cold and more cold.  Instead of blogging, I’ve been finishing socks for 13 socks in 2013 (2 socks so far), knitting on the Low Tide Cardigan, and working in my datebook/planner/journal.  I’m enjoying the journal a lot, and might share a page or two soon.

Linking up with Tami’s FO Friday.  Go check out other finishes for the week.

Thanks for visiting me.  Enjoy your weekend!

14 thoughts on “FO Friday ~ Yarn Cake Cozy

      1. Yes. It was designed to be as tall as the yarn cake. I didn’t realize I had measured wrong until I had decreased and finished the bottom.

        Like

Comments are closed.