Knitting · Reading

WIP Wednesday/Yarn Along

Happy Wednesday!  The sun is brilliant this morning and it’s warming up nicely.  Two more days until my Mom leaves the hospital and is able to go back to her apartment.  And there’s been a bit of progress on the knitting.

DSCN0095

Beginning in the front . . . The lace edge on Piper’s Journey is coming along slowly.  It’s not a good take-along project so it hasn’t received too much attention.  It’s hard to see since it’s bunched up on the needle, but the gradient colors are really lovely.  The yarn is Wolle’s cotton in the Spanish moss colorway.  I’m at the heel on the second Water Cycle Sock.  Such a fun pattern.

And one Denim Vanilla Bean Sock (stripey sock in photo) is finished for my mom.  The first sock went very quickly.  But then . . .

DSCN0099

When I was ready to start the second sock, I pulled from the middle of the ball and … oh, my.  The yarn began unraveling from the outside and a huge chunk came out of the middle.  What a mess!  Needless to say, this is in timeout until I have the patience to deal it.

I’m reading a new cozy mystery, Foul Play at Four.  Although I’m not getting much reading time right now, it’s interesting so far but not pulling me in very quickly.  You can see my reading challenge progress in the sidebar, if you’re interested.

I’m linking with Tami’s WIP Wednesday and Ginny’s Yarn Along.  Be sure to visit them and see all the lovely projects in progress this week.

♥  Janet

14 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday/Yarn Along

  1. I really enjoy sock knitting. The Water Cycle Sock looks like a lovely pattern to knit!
    Tangled yarn sure can be a pain. Hope it’s not too hard to get untangled so you can get back to your sock knitting.

    Like

    1. If I hadn’t finished one sock already, and my mom knows and likes the socks, I’d be tempted to just toss it. Maybe after a little separation, I’ll feel like trying again.

      Like

  2. Everything looks wonderful! Untangling yarn is so hard. I end up winding each end into a ball and working from there. Good Luck!

    Like

  3. Just posted about buying some Quince and Co Chickadee for a possible Piper’s Journey. I think this is a cute shawl and doesn’t look too difficult.

    Like

    1. Hi, Carol. Piper’s Journey is a really nice pattern. I took a look at the yarn you chose. It will look so pretty. Thanks for visiting me.

      Like

  4. Good luck with that naughty yarn; I hope time out works! Nice to hear you like the Watercycle pattern…thinking of trying it sometime.

    Like

    1. I think you’d like the water cycle pattern, Judy. There are four, I think, different lace pattern sections that keep the sock interesting.

      Like

Comments are closed.