Ponderings/Life · Snapshots

Morning Walk

I used to love long morning walks.  For lots of reasons (probably more excuses than reasons), I just haven’t been taking many walks.  The main culprit is arthritis in my knees.  All the more reason to get up and get moving.  So this weekend, I decided to get myself back in gear.

First up, I needed new shoes with stability support.

Check out those neon colors.
Check out those neon colors.

~J~ ordered them online and they arrived the very next day.  Have you seen the colors in women’s athletic shoes?  Bright and bold!

There are a couple of parks nearby that provide some paths and lovely scenery.  This is what I saw on my walk this morning.

6-IMG_0181

5-IMG_0180

2-IMG_0177

3-IMG_0178

It wasn’t a long walk, but it was a start.  And it’s definitely given me a little pick-me-up for the day.

I got the idea of using a progress chart with periodic rewards from the SockBunny Knit and Fit podcast.  I’m pretty sure I’d keep walking for some “yarny goodness”.  Wouldn’t you?        🙂

I hope you’re enjoying your day.  Thanks for stopping by!

♥  Janet
21 thoughts on “Morning Walk

  1. If I had a great place to walk like that I’d be doing it more too. Used to walk MaggieMae twice a day, but now it’s a chore to get one in. Getting older is not for the weak. Haha. Maybe one of these days I’ll get my incentive back. ~Sigh~ Love the shoes. I have some great gray and pink ones similar. They are great for walking in… so what’s my excuse? I absolutely have none! Nice post Janet!

    Like

    1. Hi Rose! It is a very pretty little park. Lots of color in the spring and fall. I have lots of excuses, but I’m pretty sure that “yarn” prizes will keep me motivated for a while. 🙂

      Like

  2. Ii love to walk and have many wonderful places near me. Your post reminded me of all the benefits I got from walking: a peaceful mind, renewed spirit, and strength. I must start again. Thanks for the post. I enjoy your blog.

    Like

  3. Shoes make all the difference! Walking is all I’m able to do and I do it happily 🙂 I dread the big hill to come home but once home I am satisfied. Love the sneaks!

    Like

  4. Q – Are you talking to me? LOL! We did a lot of hiking on our trip, old knees and back kept griping at me. Sick of all of the “same-old-same-old” places to walk around home. There’s nothing like the beautiful walk you have. I even have new walking shoes, I know you’re talking to me. “Get off your butt and get out there.” LOL

    Like

    1. You made me laugh 🙂 I am very lucky to have some lovely areas for walks. And I’m also a master at making excuses for not taking advantage of that.

      Like

  5. I’m a fan of morning walks, too – and I’ve also been making some excuses lately. A lot of them, to be honest. The thing is, I’m always taking the same routes and I get so bored of them! Should probably do like you just did and take my camera with me, that would certainly make it more interesting.

    That’s a very nice pair of shoes you’ve got there! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Lotta. Taking photos does keep me interested and forces me to look for something different to photograph each time. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

      Like

  6. Love the shoes! 🙂 The brightness should be enough to slip in and go… but I can understand how difficult it can be with pain. Beautiful place to walk and think and observe.

    I like to walk in the mornings too, but am learning to appreciate other moments as well. Niekah (our dog) is my companion. Always. 🙂

    Like

      1. Lol … sorry … I’m not laughing at you – but rather at myself …. because your comment about not walking fast enough for the dog made me chuckle. It seems I should consider taking up long-distance running – just to keep our dog happy – her idea – not mine! ;0

        Like

Comments are closed.