Knitting

WIP Wednesday

Happy Wednesday!  As promised yesterday, here are the details of my Advent Scarf.

1-DSCN1068
Advent Calendar Scarf 2013 ~ Day 3

I’m using Jojoland Melody Superwash on 3.5 mm (US 4) needles.  The colorway is called blue viola, a strong gradient of blues and purples.  The Kids gave me the yarn last Christmas and I’ve been waiting for the “just right” project.  After three false starts with a different yarn, I switched to this.  I even had purple beads in the stash. Perfect!

1-DSCN1066
Advent Calendar Scarf ~ Days 1-3

I’m doing a more narrow version (55 sts rather than the 103 called for in the pattern) and conserving more yarn by shortening some of the row repeats.  Doing the math for the narrow width is sometimes a challenge.  Being married to a mathematician certainly helps.    🙂

The photos aren’t showing the yarn well.  The true colors are much more vibrant.  It’s been overcast all week and the lighting poor.  I’ve tried several tricks with the camera and decided to settle for clear pattern photos instead of true colors.  Surely the sun will shine before the KAL ends.

Today is Day 5 and the pattern was posted about an hour ago.  I’ve been away all day (almost finished with holiday shopping) and just now starting Day 4.  I’m not feeling a lot of pressure to keep up, just enjoying the knit-a-long.  I’m sure I’ll catch up and fall behind several times.  I usually do.   🙂

That’s it for my WIP Wednesday.  What’s on your needles and hooks?

Enjoy the rest of your week.

♥  Janet
10 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday

  1. love it! I’ve knit with that yarn company before and it was delightful. Isn’t this weather crazy to get photos??? I am having the same challenge. Or I remember late at night or early in the morning :/

    Like

    1. Thanks, Karen. My problem with photos is the same. I finish knitting too late in the evening and then want to get started on the next day before good light.

      Like

Comments are closed.