Knitting

Last Finishes of 2013

Now that the holidays are over, I can share two of the “secret” gifts that kept me busy.

3-DSCN1222
~J’s~ Alpaca Scarf

Pattern :: One Row Handspun Scarf by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
Yarn :: Cascade Yarns Eco Alpaca
Needle :: US 7 (4.5 mm)

I cannot tell you how much I love this yarn.  It is incredibly soft.  The pattern is simple and easy TV or travel knitting.  The scarf is warm and ~J~ loves it.  He’s worn it almost every time he’s left the house since Christmas.  I have two skeins left in a different dye lot (although this is a natural color and not dyed).

1-DSCN1216
~T’s~ Mitts

Pattern :: Wizard Warmers by Maire Martin
Yarn :: Knit Picks Wool of the Andes Superwash, marble heather colorway
Needles :: US 4 (3.5 mm)

It took a bit to get an acceptable gauge and from there these were an easy, quick knit.  The name of the pattern refers to the fingerless mitts worn by Gandalf in The Hobbit movies.  The finger flap can be folded down to cover the fingers for warmth or folded up to leave the fingers free.  I knew ~T~ would enjoy the mitts and the story behind them.  ~J~ is modeling the mitts in the picture and likes them so much he’s asked for a pair to go with his scarf.  I love it when things work out so well.        🙂

There you have it — the last two knitting finishes of 2013.  Onward to goals for 2014.  I’ve already transferred a few projects into my new 2014 Knitting Journal, need to make the finish-or-frog decision on some other WIPs, and ponder a bit more on what I’d like to accomplish this year.  How’s 2014 starting for you?

Enjoy your weekend, friends!

♥  Janet
14 thoughts on “Last Finishes of 2013

  1. Lovely last knits of the year! I especially like the Wizard Warmers – for the looks and also for the story. 🙂 Have fun knitting on 2014!

    Like

Comments are closed.