Art Journaling · The Documented Life Project

Documented Life Project Challenges

I’m participating in two year-long art journal challenges this year.  Much of my spare time during the day is spent working on these journal prompts.

The Documented Life Project is being offered by the five talented ladies of Art to the 5th.  Rather than using the agenda format suggested, I’m using a gridded Moleskine for the challenges.  Some of the pages were shared here and here and I thought I’d share two more.

DSCN1572 copy
DLP > Week 13 > Ask someone to draw on your page — finish it!

My mom is 83 and has very low vision.  Lately she’s shown a lot of interest in my journals and in starting one of her own.  I thought this was a perfect opportunity for a collaboration.  After much thought, she wrote  the words “Love You”.  I used gel crayons and watercolor pencils in bright colors so that she could see the finished page.

> * < > * < > * < > * < > * <

DSCN1573 copy
DLP > Week 14 > Write and embellish your name

This challenge gave me a chance to experiment with lettering styles.  Even though I sketched my name first, I managed to get it way off-center.  That left plenty of space to doodle some flowers to go along with the washi tape edge.

> * < > * < > * < > * < > *

I have some knitting to share soon.  And another set of journal pages.  Now, I’m headed out to spend some time reading blogs and catching up with you.

Enjoy the rest of your week.

♥  Janet
11 thoughts on “Documented Life Project Challenges

  1. You’ve just given me a brilliant idea! Daddio is so depressed about not being able to do any sewing since he can’t sit up but maybe, just maybe, I can interest him in something like that. I’ve got plenty of stuff already here to get started.

    Like

  2. You had me at washi tape 🙂 love that you embraced the grid, I never thought of that notebook as being used for creativity ! I love that your mom is joining you as well, so sweet.

    Like

  3. Lovely as usual – and I’m so glad that your mom was a participant and has been inspired to create some of her own journals – how absolutely wonderful and inspiring – and yes, important – because too often we overlook the facts that “our elderly people” have a wealth of experience and creativity to share and it provides valuable stimulation, connection and gifts to the world!

    Truly, this has made my day Janet 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.