Art Journaling

The Documented Life Project ~ Weeks 15, 16, 17

Picture 3

Most of my time lately has been spent at the table in the craft room surrounded by papers, inks and paints — working on journal challenges.  Here’s an update on The Documented Life Project.

DLP > Week 15 > Monochromatic
DLP > Week 15 > Monochromatic

The challenge for Week 15 was to use shades, tints and hues of one color.  Yellow is my happy color so I layered acrylic paints, inks and sprays with stencils and stamps over a layer of gesso.  Makes me smile    🙂

DLP > Week 16 > Add a cardboard food box
DLP > Week 16 > Add a cardboard food box

I was running a little behind on challenges.  By the time I got to the challenge for Week 16 (add a cardboard food box to your page), it was just after Easter and I decided to incorporate the chocolate bunny box.  Spray inks mixed with water and blotted with paper towel made a splotchy, pastel background.  I cut up the box and added scrap paper eggs and bunnies.

DLP > Week 17 > Photograph or draw your favorite shoes
DLP > Week 17 > Photograph or draw your favorite shoes

The Week 17 challenge suggested a photo or drawing of our favorite shoes.  I knew sketching my favorite casual shoes would be a fail, so I opted for the photo instead.  Scrap paper, photos, stickers and four different washi tapes make the page.  I  washi tapes!

 

 

11 thoughts on “The Documented Life Project ~ Weeks 15, 16, 17

  1. It’s work,but they are coming out so nicely.What page sizes do you use? I am thinking of starting one for all my design ideas. Kind of like a mood board. But also where I’d keep yarn samples, stitch samples, drawings, swatched. Do you thing what you are doing could be done to record a knitwear design from start to finish?

    Like

    1. I love your idea for a design journal and I think it would work well. The DLP journal (in this post) is a gridded Moleskine that measures about 7.5 x 10.5 inches. The facing page (that I don’t show) holds notes on the challenge, my inspiration, materials, etc. My knitting journal is a composition notebook with sketches, comments, row counts, etc. for each project. And washi tape for fun, of course. 🙂

      Like

  2. looks like you’ve been creatively busy these days! Love the shoes and I just bought a pair of sketchers (go walk) and they are heaven in a shoe!!

    Like

Comments are closed.