In the Garden

Pinks and Purples

I’ve been spending more time lately working with my camera.  After such a long and bitter winter, the spring flowers are a lovely change.  We have lots of color in the gardens right now.  I thought I’d share some pinks and purples today.

We've had these beautiful iris 35 years, give or take. The original bulbs came from ~J's~ mom a few years after we were married. They've been divided and follow us each time we've moved.
We’ve had these beautiful iris 35 years, give or take. The original bulbs came from ~J’s~ mom a few years after we were married. They’ve been divided and follow us each time we’ve moved.
Baskets of pansies and petunias hang around the edge of the deck.
Hanging baskets of pansies and petunias.
The baskets hang around the edge of the deck.
The baskets hang around the edge of the deck.

Pink carnations that have also been with us for years. We received a start from ~J's~ sister. They edge several garden spaces.
Pink carnations that have also been with us for years. We received a start from ~J’s~ sister. They edge several garden spaces.
A pot of pansies sit on the deck.  I love the shades of purple at different stages of each bloom.
A pot of pansies sit on the deck. I love the shades of purple at different stages of each bloom.
IMG_0762
The pink rose bush is huge with filled with beautiful blooms.

We’ll be heading to the Kentucky Sheep and Fiber Festival this weekend.  I have my budget set and a short shopping list.  Let the fun begin!

Enjoy your weekend!

♥  Janet
10 thoughts on “Pinks and Purples

  1. The purple pansies are my favorite! Have a wonderful time at the festival this weekend! I look forward to seeing your purchases next week!

    Like

  2. Have fun at the festival!! I hope you spend all the allowance on good fiber fun 🙂 this winter had made me a love of the blossoms and greenery that occurs in spring.

    Like

  3. I do so love a beautiful iris. My grandfather raised them in all colors and I have fond memories of his huge iris bed in bloom.
    I can’t wait to see what you bring home from the festival. Have a great time!

    Like

Comments are closed.