Knitting

FO Friday ~ Onyx Loop Cowl

Hooray for Friday! 

Cooler temperatures rolled in at the end of the week.  Bright sunshine and singing birds have made it a cheerful morning.  The Onyx Loop Cowl was finished a couple of weeks ago.  Black yarn, even sparkly black yarn, is a challenge for me to photograph.  I was finally able to get a few decent photos for today’s FO post.

onyx loop cowl

Pattern  ::  A Grey Loop by Helen G
Yarn  ::  Unplanned Peacock Studio Twinkle Twist, onyx colorway
Needle  ::  US 8 (5.0 mm)

The pattern is written for DK weight yarn and would make a very cozy fabric.  I wanted something a little lighter.  When I saw Karen’s (Pumpkin Sunrise) versions in fingering weight, I began to make plans.  This was the perfect travel project in February and March when little ~Cricket~ was born.  The pattern is easy to memorize and the knitting easy to read.  The yarn was purchased at the fiber festival last May, a new-to-me yarn with a touch of sparkle that I really enjoy knitting.  I’m hoping they’ll be back this year.

I made a couple of modifications to the pattern.  I cast on 240 stitches which made for a nice long loop that can be doubled comfortably.  And I used a fellow Raveler’s suggestion to use a slip stitch in the first five rows to keep the edges from rolling. It adds a nice texture to the edge as well.  This is definitely a pattern I’ll knit again.

Enjoy your weekend!

~  Janet

 

7 thoughts on “FO Friday ~ Onyx Loop Cowl

Comments are closed.