Knitting

FO Friday ~ Linen Stitch Cowl

Hooray for Friday!

There was a lot of knitting going on in April, but little to show for my time.  I have no idea how many new projects were started.  Most were sent to the frog pond or are sitting in limbo.  One project survived to the finish line.

linen stitch cowlPattern  ::  Manic Panic Cowl by Sarah Core
Yarns  ::  Premier Yarns Serenity Sock Weight Prints in harlequin, surf and teal tease colorways
Needle  ::  US 8 (5 mm) circular

I enjoyed the simplicity and rhythm of the linen stitch.  The yarns were leftover sock yarns in similar colorways, each with a purple and teal color in common, and used 80-85 yards of each.  I cast on 299 stitches and used a larger needle than the project recommended for a fabric that’s not quite as tight and has a nice drape.  There was no plan for the stripes, just changing colors randomly when I thought it was time.

I think the front and back of the linen stitch are both attractive.  And when the cowl is looped twice, the textures work well together.  This is a great project to use leftover yarns and I’m pretty sure I’ll be making more.  This one is going in the gift box for now, but when the weather cools I may claim it.

Have a nice weekend!

~  Janet

6 thoughts on “FO Friday ~ Linen Stitch Cowl

  1. It’s beautiful Janet. I love the colors and the drape is real nice. It actually looks like you wove it. Have a great weekend!

    Like

  2. Nice work on the scarf, Janet! You must have had a lot of ends to sew in? The linen stitch is a nice one, isn’t it?

    Like

  3. I love the linen stitch. THis makes me want to start on another linen stitch scarf! And I love that it is reersible.

    Like

Comments are closed.