Knitting · Reading · Spinning

WIP Wednesday

Happy Wednesday!

2-DSCN3594-001On the needles . . . another Downtown Cowl.  All the spinning this month had me itching to knit with some handspun.  The yarn I chose was spun during the 2014 TdF from Greenwood Fiberworks, Downton colorway.  This poor yarn has tried to become several things only to be frogged and rewound.  This is the match it’s been waiting for.  I’m just over half-way through the pattern.  I’ve knit the Downtown cowl before, in another handspun, and love it.  The photo does not do the colors justice.  I’ll try to do better for the FO post.

1-DSCN3579-001On the wheel . . . is the only unfinished project from this year’s Tour — merino top from Ashland Bay.  I bought this a couple of years ago when we visited the Kids in Florida.  The label was so faded that I couldn’t read the colorway and I haven’t been able to match it with colors online.  Two ounces on the first bobbin and 2 oz to go.

On the bookshelf . . . is Steeped in Evil by Laura Childs.  I enjoy the Teashop Mysteries series, interesting and easy reads.

That’s it for me.  What are you working on?

Enjoy your projects and the rest of your week.

~  Janet

10 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday

  1. I’ve made a Downtown Cowl and found it to be a great pattern. Of course, yours is extra special for being knit out of handspun!

    I used to love mysteries, but I think I overdosed. Now I can only read the really suspenseful ones!

    Like

  2. That is some beautiful yarn you spun! That is going to make a lovely Downton cowl. I have to go back and look at all your spinning. I haven’t been able to keep up with my favorite blogs lately. I started Tour de Fleece and kind of stumbled at the end. And you should definitely try Color Affection again. This time went way faster than the first one! I think it’s taken me a little over 3 weeks to almost finish.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Donna. I’m behind on blog reading too. It may have been my color choices that turned me off of the Color Affection. I really like the soft colors you chose.

      Like

  3. I have the itch to knit with my handspun too but it’s been too hot to think about really woolly things. The cowl is a perfect match for your lovely handspun. You’ve already gotten so far!

    Like

Comments are closed.