Knitting

FO Friday ~ Almost

Hooray for Friday!  Look at me . . . posting 5 days in a row.

The Bohemian Shawl was finished last week during the Tour de Fleece and I put off blocking until the Tour was over.  Yesterday was the day to soak, block and dry.  Just in time for FO Friday.

1-DSCN3601

Miss Sappho found the blocking wires fascinating and decided to supervise.  She was a bit miffed that this was happening on “her” bed, in “her” room.

2-DSCN3603

Wires were threaded and pinned across the top, the bottom point pinned and I began to gently stretch the ribbed edge for just a little more give.  And then, the yarn snapped.

3-DSCN3604

The key when these things happen is not to panic.  I grabbed pins and quickly trapped each stitch involved and let it dry.  I’m so aggravated.  I’ve blocked a dozen or more lace shawls with no problem.  I guess it was time.  Now I need to figure out how to mend the edge.  Let’s hope this shawl with be a real FO next week.

Enjoy your weekend!

~  Janet 

 

 

14 thoughts on “FO Friday ~ Almost

  1. Oh no! I always fear that will happen to me. I would say get a needle in it when you take it off the board and then graft along the edge as if in a bind off manner. Fingers crossed!

    Like

  2. beautiful shawl. You might want to unravel a few more stitches and then splice the yarn and rework the end. If the yarn is very fine, a Shetland splice would work well.

    Like

    1. It’s still hanging on the door with a needle threaded through the stitches. I know what I have to do, but then I thought I knew how to gently stretch the edge too. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.