Beading · Knitting · Spinning

Fall Fiber and Beads

Our fall break trip involved a fair amount of shopping and a visit to the Smoky Mountain Spinnery was at the top of my list.  I was so absorbed in all the beautiful fibers and yarns and accessories that I forgot to take any photos of the shop.  I did take photos of my purchases.

Two 4-ounce bundles of merino in the colors dusty and peach.  I first thought they would be spun thin and plied together.  Now I’m not so sure.  I may take a small amount of each and give it a try before I decide.

06-DSCN3879This is new-to-me yarn (80/20 wool/nylon aran-weight) for boot cuffs, holiday gifts if I can get them finished in time.

11-DSCN3884Cascade Alpaca Lace for this year’s Advent Scarf.

10-DSCN3883Cascade Color Duo (70/30 baby alpaca/merino).  So soft and yummy colors, I see fingerless mitts ??

12-DSCN3886Lastly, look at those colors and the thick/thin texture.  This is definitely my next cowl.

Another favorite shop is Tahiti Beads.  The first group will be arranged for a necklace and the second will become stitch markers.

Shopping so much fun.  Now the real work begins, turning most of this into holiday gifts before I run out of time.     🙂

Have a lovely weekend!

~ Janet

9 thoughts on “Fall Fiber and Beads

  1. Nice purchases you grabbed here. Boot cuffs will be fun to make as they seem they’ll be quick. I like the new roving you got. It’ll be interesting to see how they come out. And these beads are great.

    Like

  2. All your purchases are beautiful. I love the Bamboo Bloom Handpaints – the colors in that are just beautiful. I can’t believe all the projects you’re planning to start (and finish, I’m sure) – you’re amazing!

    Like

  3. Sounds like a fun expedition! My Advent Scarf turned out so huge I had to stop at Day 17. It took me a long time to finish, so I’m passing on any more although it was an interesting project.

    Like

  4. You got some great stuff! I think I would spin those two separately and knit them together in some sort of colorwork pattern (maybe a cowl if it’s soft enough?). They will look great together.

    Like

Comments are closed.