Stitching

Slow Stitching

2-DSCN5021

After seeing it mentioned on several blogs and Pinterest, I decided to look into the idea of slow stitching.  I was able to get a copy of Claire Wellesley-Smith’s book and have enjoyed every page and photo.  For me, slow stitching means relaxing, process over product, being mindful of the stitches, free form, practice becoming habit.

3-DSCN5023

I gathered a scrap of fabric, some threads and began to stitch.  The timer on my phone is set for 20 minutes and I try to clear my mind, concentrate on the stitches and colors.  Right now I’ve been adding stitches daily and I’ll slow down when I decide I want a break.

Enjoy your day!

~  Janet

 

9 thoughts on “Slow Stitching

  1. what fun! When I was in college, I didn’t have a sewing machine, so I made lots of clothes literally by hand. My dorm mates thought I was crazy, but I loved doing it. And I have to tell you, put a zipper in by hand and it is neat and straight. I have never gotten one in by machine as nicely as the hand sewn ones. I think I would really enjoy this new craft of yours, but I can’t do any more ne crafts right now. Really, I can’t. No, I am not scrolling back up to look at the book again. Really. Not.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Never knew there was a book for slow stitching, and I didn’t know you liked to stitch! Me, too, although I haven’t picked up an embroidery needle for a while. I need to do that!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, this could be a form of meditation I’d enjoy! I’ve been wanting to learn how to stitch anyway, and to do it slow and focused – bliss! Thank you for sharing, I love the idea and the way your work is evolving. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.